Recipe: Vegan Stir Fry

13706329_10209821483724252_981832669_n

Nothing beats a big, steamin’ bowl of stir fry, it’s definitely my ultimate comfort food. The best thing about it is that you can throw in pretty much anything you’ve got lying around, and having a variety of sauces in the cupboard makes it easy to pick whatever flavour you’re craving. My favourites include hoisin, sweet chili and garlic, szechwan and chow mein, so I always make sure to pick up a couple of sachets when I’m doing a shop. 

As for the carbs, there are many vegan noodle choices out there, dried or ready cooked, and  typically made from wheat or rice. You can also go with some good ol’ rice, but noodles are my typical go-to choice.

You can also make it more filling and higher in protein by adding tofu pieces, vegan chicken pieces or other chunks of vegan meat substitutes – there’s really a lot out there to choose from! I always make sure to have a couple of bags of Quorn’s vegan chicken pieces in the freezer, as they’re versatile and can be jazzed up with seasonings and used in a multitude of recipes!

13692299_10209821483564248_1866668492_o

Let’s jump into what I used to make my stir fry today. I always have a variety of frozen veg, so I pulled out a handful of sliced mushrooms, broccoli and carrot slices, but of course you can opt for fresh veg if you so desire. I also chopped up a red bell pepper and half an onion. Add in a couple of cloves of garlic, I used some from a jar. I decided to go with Hoisin & Garlic sauce from Sainsbury’s, as I didn’t really fancy a spicy dish tonight, but wanted some delicious oriental flavours, and used Add To Wok plain noodles. As for my protein, I used about two handfuls of Quron Vegan Pieces.

To make it a bit easier to gather the ingredients, here’s a list:

  • 1/2 onion – diced
  • 3 cloves garlic – minced, or a teaspoon of minced garlic from a jar
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 handful chopped broccoli
  • 1 handful sliced carrot
  • 1 handful sliced mushrooms
  • 2 handfuls Quorn Vegan Pieces
  • 1 packet of Sainsbury’s Hoisin & Garlic sauce
  • 1 portion Add to Wok Plain Noodles
  • Soy sauce
  • Lemon juice
  • Seasonings: smoked paprika, salt & pepper to taste
  • Sesame seeds (optional)

Note: The ingredients will yield one serving. To make two portions, simply double the ingredients.

And now for the cooking directions:

  1. Put a wok onto low-medium heat, add some oil
  2. Cook the onion, garlic, veg and Quorn pieces for 20 minutes. This will help them all soften up and absorb any seasonings, making it a flavourful dish. It’s also worth noting that the Quorn vegan pieces have a tendency to fall apart a little, which is fine
  3. Add the seasonings, a splash of soy sauce and a dash of lemon juice, and increase the heat to medium. Cook for another 3-5 minutes
  4. Add the sauce (I use a whole sachet) and cook for another 3 minutes, stirring
  5. Take the noodles out of the packet, break them up and add to the wok, increase the heat to medium-high and cook for an additional 3 minutes. By now, all the ingredients should have absorbed the delicious flavours
  6. Transfer your stir fry into a bowl and sprinkle with sesame seeds
  7. Resist chomping the whole bowl down in one go, as it will be quite hot. Enjoy your noodle-y, saucy goodness!

13695768_10209821483604249_312826236_n

I really hope you enjoy this one, it may not be the healthiest of dinners, considering I used pre-made sauce and pre-cooked noodles, but I consider this as more of a comfort food, for when I need a little pick-me-up.

Let me know what you think, and what you like adding to your stir fry!

Thank you and goodnight!

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 01.06.52

Leave a Reply

