Review: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation (Ivory)

13649638_10209780327975384_1903415285_n

Hello lovelies! Today I will be reviewing a foundation I have used for quite a while now – the Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation, in the shade Ivory. So let’s start off with my skin. I have quite a pale complexion with pink undertones, and often find myself struggling to find a shade light enough for my skin. I also have combination skin, swaying towards oily, with a tendency to break out. So, when it comes to picking a foundation, I have a set criteria which I need it to do:

  • Come in a shade light enough for my complexion, without having a yellow undertone.
  • Provide full coverage- the fuller the coverage, the thinner the layer of foundation I will end up putting on my face, and avoid it looking cakey.
  • Have a matte finish, as my face gets oily throughout the day, ‘glowing’ foundations just don’t work for me.
  • Have no animal derived products – or put simply, be vegan.

I tend to stay away from drugstore foundations, it’s a personal preference, as I’ve had bad acne in the past and got into the habit of using ‘better’ products on my face. I’ve read a lot about Tarte, and this foundation seemed perfect to try out. The description on Tarte’s website states that it is “An oil-free, 12-hour liquid foundation formulated with Amazonian clay.”  There’s also a breakdown of the key ingredients:

“• Amazonian clay: nature’s most perfect ingredient for better, longer, truer wear
• Vitamin A: antioxidant that retains moisture and helps protect against free radical damage
• Vitamin E: natural preservative that also acts as an anti-inflammatory emollient and antioxidant”

I was quite excited to learn that it included two vitamins which are just great for your skin. A foundation that offers great wear, full coverage and helps my skin? I was sold.

It comes in 24 shades, the lightest being Ivory, and retails for £28 on their website, which isn’t too steep considering you do get 50ml in there. You can also order samples at Rose’s Beauty Store for £1.49 each, which makes picking a shade a much easier job before committing to buying a full size product.

Without further ado, let’s jump into the review.

The packaging is quite handy, as it comes in a squeeze-tube, making it a bit easier to get as much product out as possible, which is often difficult with foundations that come in glass bottles or with a pump, and is more hygienic than ones that come in pots. It does get a bit tattered overtime, but that isn’t a big issue for me. And the wooden lid is just plain cute.

The product comes out as a thick cream, but has a silky feel to it, blends incredibly easily, and dries to a matte finish. You don’t need a lot of it to cover your whole face, however the “full coverage” isn’t as full as I’d want it to be, so I’d describe it as more of a medium coverage.

13644318_10209780581061711_756704333_n

In terms of the colour, when I first squeezed a bit out, I was worried as it looked a tad bit dark and yellow-tinted. However, once blended, it matched my skin pretty well.

Now, Tarte claims that it’s a 12-hour wear foundation, which is true, however not on its own. This is probably because I do have oily skin, and without powder, any foundation would slide off my face during the day. So, as long as the foundation is set with a powder, it stays in place for the majority of the day, with the possible need for a few touch ups throughout the day.

13617491_10209780328015385_1731292395_n

(Top image: without, bottom image: with foundation)

I’ve now used this foundation for over a year, on a pretty much daily basis, and I still have a few uses left in it, which is pretty good. As it contains different skin benefitting vitamins I was curious to see whether it would improve my skin, and although I didn’t really notice any changes, it didn’t cause my skin to break out at all, which is a big plus. It also contains SPF 15, however I already use a separate SPF 50 under my make up, so that wasn’t really key for me.

So, let’s ask the big question now, is this foundation really worth it?

Let’s quickly go through the pros and cons:

Pros:

  • Matte finish
  • Oil-free
  • Light consistency
  • Decent coverage
  • Reasonably long wear
  • The tub lasts for a long time
  • Doesn’t irritate skin, causing break outs
  • Cruelty free and vegan

Cons:

  • Not really full coverage

As you can see, there wasn’t really that much wrong with it, and a lot really right with it. It does pretty much everything it promises, aside from providing a true full coverage, which is not a big deal for those with fairy even skin tone, and any blemishes can be covered up with a concealer.

Will I be repurchasing it? Probably at some point, however now I’m eager to try a different foundation, and I’ve already got my eyes set on the Kat Von D foundation.

I hope you’ve found my review useful, don’t hesitate to leave a comment and follow me on Bloglovin’ to never miss a post!

Thank you and goodnight!

Screen Shot 2016-07-09 at 01.06.52

Leave a Reply

